January 31, 2011

Miguel Poveda - Tierra de Calma

Miguel Poveda (vocals); Moraito Chico, Juan Carlos Romero (guitar); Paquito González, Antonio Coronel (percussion); Bobby Soto, Carlos Grilo (palmas).

1 Buenas intenciones - Tangos
2 Tierra de calma - Farruca
3 Como la luna en el agua - Bulerías
4 Calle del mar - Malagueña
5 Y en medio el río - Sevillanas
6 Naúfragos del hambre - Soleá
7 Alfileres de colores - Bulerías
8 Detrás de la memoria - Seguirilla
9 La radio de mi madre
10 Canto de la resignación - Toná

thegoodone is the word to say to get to juice from the flaming oranges

Miguel Poveda’s new record, “Tierra de Calma”,(well not new now) has several powerful moments and one true jewel. The jewel is the “Toná de la Resignación” with music by Juan Carlos Romero, who composed all the entire record, and poetry by José Luis Ortiz Nuevo. A simple melody, inspired in the so-called tonás campesinas. It is a cante which situates itself on the other side of tragedy, in an intimate, reflexive, stoical terrain. A short melody with the feeling of melancholy and nostalgia.

Poveda is in top form with elegrant phrasing, strength and a solid base. He’s brilliant without overwhelming because everything flows naturally. Other noteworthy moments: the tangos “Buenas Intenciones”. Fresh, natural, healthful, energetic with a sassy bit in major key and a nod to the Triana of Betis and el Titi. Also the bulería “Alfileres de Colores”, a bullfight poem from texts of Pedro Rivera and music by Diego Carrasco who sings it with Poveda. Jokes and fun, serious business. Having a ball within the rhythm of twelve beats. Poveda’s light and Carrasco’s pure need. A verse of Quintero/León/Quiroga, the sentimental journey of a forgetful country. With a free-form guitar introduction full of color. more

One of moast beautifull cover designs and photography I have seen.

No comments:

Post a Comment